Channel: Aphroden.com // Ace Photo, Video and Media studios based in Lagos Nigeria
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 977

Meet the class of 2014! Nominees for The Future Africa Awards 2014 unveiled – To be Hosted by US Consul-General



It’s the list the continent has been waiting for!

After a full year receiving nominations from across Africa, the Central Working Committee (CWC) of The Future Africa Awards & Summit (TFAAS) has today released the Nominees List for 2014.

The list – of five nominees each – is released for the 10 categories of the awards. “After last year’s process, where only the Young Person of the Year was Africa-wide, for the first time in the 9-year history of The Future Africa Awards, this is the first time that the entire awards have been drawn from across the continent,” said Mohamed Diaby, from Abidjan, who is a member of the CWC. “Their profiles are available on www.thefutureafrica.com/awards and then judging process begins immediately with the jury, including the Board of Judges and the Independent Audit Committee.”

The jury has distinguished Africans including Katja Schiller Nwator (Leadership Development and CSR Manager, The Tony Elumelu Foundation), Mahamadou Sy (Founder and Executive Director of the Institut Supérieur de Développement Local (ISDL), Senegal), Wendy Luhabe (Founder, Women's Private Equity Fund), Tonye Cole (Executive Director, Sahara Group), Ndidi Nwuneli (Founder LEAP Africa), Mo Abudu (CEO, Ebony Life TV), and Jennah Scott (Director, Liberia Philanthropy Secretariat, Office of the President).

Known as Africa’s biggest youth event, TFAAS evolved from The Future Awards to The Future Africa Awards & Summit this year.

The Consul-General of the United States in Lagos, Nigeria will host the nominees to an invitation-only reception on Thursday, July 31.



(Nominees are arranged in order of name, age, organisation and country of origin)

The Future Africa Awards Prize in Advocacy & Activism

1. Kennedy Odede, 29

Shining Hope for Communities, Kenya

Kennedy Odede

2. Ola Ojewumi, 23

Sacred Hearts children's transplant foundation and Project ASCEND, Nigeria


3. Boniface Mwangi, 29

Pawa 254 initiative, Kenya


4. Abdikadir Aden Hassan, 26

Founding member of Garissa Youth Environment Movement, Kenya


5. David Akpan, 28

UCARE Foundation Nigeria

The Future Africa Awards Prize in Technology

1. Lorna Rutto, 28

EcoPost, Kenya


2. Jamilia Abass, Linda Kwamboka, Susan Oguya, - 30, 26, 26

M-Farm, Kenya


3. Anne Amuzu, 29

Nandimobile Company, Ghana


4. Mark Essien, 31

Hotels.ng, Nigeria

Mark Essien

5. Joshua Okello, 23

WinSenga, Kenya


The Future Africa Awards Prize in Entertainment

1. Panshak Zamani, 27

Musical Artiste, Nigeria


2. Michael Kwesi Owusu (Sarkodie), 28

Musical Artiste, Ghana


3. Nasibu Abdul Juma (Diamond), 24

Musical Act, Tanzania


4. Ivie okujaye, 28

Actress and producer, Nigeria


5. Yaya Toure, 31

Footballer, Ivory Coast

Yaya Toure


The Future Awards Prize for African Young Person of the Year

1. Kayode Disu, 31

ISEC, Nigeria


2. Joel Mwale, 20

Sky Drop Enterprises and Gigavia.com, Kenya


3. Sangu Delle, 27

Cleanacwa, Ghana


4. Alengot Oromait, 22

Member of Parliament, Uganda


5. David Adedeji Adeleke (Davido), 21

Musician, Nigeria


Profiles of all nominees are now available on thefutureafrica.com/awards.


TFAAS 2014 is supported by Microsoft, the US Consulate and the Tony Elumelu Foundation. Official Media Partners are EbonyLife TV, AfricaMagic, Ventures Africa, and Y! Africa. Official Online Partners are MemeBurn, BellaNaija, Premium Times and 360nobs.


The official bloggers for 2014 are Linda Ikeji, Omojuwa, LadunLiadi, Olorisupergal, Ameyaw and NigeriaNewsDesk. Country partners are The Cable, Ladun Liadi Blog, The Trent, Information Nigeria, GidiTraffic, News Wire Nigeria and Pulse.ng.


Cool FM is the host radio station. Channels Television is the host TV station.


For more information, visit @TFAAfrica on Twitter or the website www.thefutureafrica.com/awards. The official hashtags for 2014 are #ThisIsAfrica and #TFAAS2014.

The post Meet the class of 2014! Nominees for The Future Africa Awards 2014 unveiled – To be Hosted by US Consul-General appeared first on Aphroden.

Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 977

Latest Images

Trending Articles

Latest Images